52 notes

Disclaimer:
First of all I want to thank all and every Synfig contributors for their awesome work.
Second - I do not consider my notes or my ideas to come from a person with professional animation expertise NOR as a typical synfig user. I’m new to this software and all the notes I wrote down so far are a unordered collection of things that came to my mind on my very first project with it.

1 deleting selected layers should be possible with “del” or “backspace” (maybe also add a drag & drop recycle bin icon?)
2 layer icons are not centered (align them left with smaller padding?)
3 filter layer name should be renamed (“halftone” “halftone lines” “halftone colors” instead of 1,2,3 ?)
4 single click activate text entry field (dropdown lists -> scrollwheel) - BOOLEAN values only toggle is double click!
5 value fields are too long (0.000000000000564 + two rows!)
6 pressing “tab” should behave like “enter” when changing field values
7 “Amount” often is not really descriptive (use “visibility”, “opacity”, …?)
8 mouseover help in params window would be a great help!
9 right click should always result in the same menu (not depend on what is below it)
10 hiding scrollbars + ruler should be possible to save space (also assign shortcuts to toggle them on/off)
11 the ruler could be smaller
12 little ruler stripes not 100% black (a faint gray is enough - no need to emphasize the optical impression of the ruler)
13 key lock icon does not indicate enough (yellow icon is too faint! - maybe a completely new icon)
14 set angle ducks always on top of radius ducks (so that both ducks are always on one ring - removing visual clutter)
15 triangle, square, diamond, circle, cross ducks to represent the different types of ducks type (maybe color them as well, but it is hard for some people to distinguish only by color)
16 add an indicator that shows when layers are in a group (maybe link the indicator to the group)